When kath is blogging

Get your dress tailor-made in Hong Kong

Posted in Fashion by Katharine on December 27, 2013

I am a fashion design graduate from the Parsons School of Design in New York. I have over 5 years of experience working for designer bridal and evening wear labels. I work with clients on an exclusive one on one basis. Currently, I’m looking into starting up my own made-to-order business. However, before I get my business up and running, I need to expand my portfolio. You get a quality made custom dress at an affordable price, in return I get experience and put my first step out in building up my business.

Here is what I am offering:

If you have a special design of a dress in mind, I can work with you personally and discuss about the design, fabrication and any concerns you might have. I can source the fabric option for you, or you can provide fabric for me. Then I’ll draft the pattern of your dress tailored to your measurement and needs. Before sewing your dress in real fabric of your choice, we will have 2 mock up fittings to check the fit and proportion. Then when the dress is being cut and sewn in your selected fabric, we’ll have 1 to 3 fittings at this work in progress stage. Everything will be made in Hong Kong by me, and fittings will be held at the comfort of your home. The whole process takes about 2 to 3 months at the minimum. Please note that since I do everything on my own, there is only so much I can do within the time period. So during busy seasons, more time will be needed.

What is special about my service?

I understand that it is not easy to find a unique dress off the rack, so I am willing to explore wild design details with you. You will be on a special journey to see your dress comes together. You get up close and personal with the process of creating your dress, and make decision on every details on it. I charge significantly lower than any other designer label you can find in Hong Kong, simply because I want to start my business somewhere. On the other hand, my service is much more personal than giving your drawing to a tailor across the boarder and hope for the best. You don’t have to worry that I’d cut corners and compromise the design, proportion and fabrication for convenience. This is not cookie cutter fast fashion, so please allow roughly 2 month time (but we can definitely work something out if you don’t have that much time.)

What I am charging: 

$4,800 HKD + Material cost (on your finished dress).

 Why am I charging that?

For a proper evening gown that fits like a glove, it requires roughly 60 hours of my time to make the pattern, do the fittings and sew the dress. To cut the cost down for you, you will be responsible for the cost of the material (fashion fabric, lace, trimming, beads used on the finished garment) and I won’t profit from it. I can source the material and let you know the price before you make the decision.

Fabric cost reference: Simple drapery floor length dress with silk on the outside and lining would cost you somewhere around $1000 HKD. So if you want to go with polyester or cotton, your fabric cost would be lower.

me draping a chiffon gown. Please contact me for more of my previous work samples.

This is me draping a chiffon gown. Contact me for more of my previous work samples.

If you are interested in creating that special dress in your mind that fits perfectly, please email me at: kathereal@gmail.com . It would be great if you have some image reference for the design, and let me know when you need the dress by. Since I do run around town a lot, it may takes me a few days to get back to you. However if you haven’t heard from me in a week, please send me another email as it may have been lost in my spam folder.

As long as this blog is still up, I’m still taking on new orders.

Thank you 🙂
-kath

http://instagram.com/kath_yeung

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Denise said, on October 27, 2016 at 10:22 am

    Kath helped me design my wedding dress. From the beginning to the end she was just lovely, very patient and super pleasant to work with. Even when I had moments of frustration when I could not decide on details of the dress or when I decided to add another material to the dress three weeks before the wedding, Kath kept her cool. Not once did she say no to any of my suggestions. Even though the dress was only finished one day before the wedding, everything worked out great and all my friends complimented me on the dress. I can highly recommend Kath. Happy to share photos on her Instagram etc. Thanks for everything Kath. It was a great experience and lovely meeting you.


Leave a Reply

