When kath is blogging

I love basic t-shirts

Posted in Fashion by Katharine on August 11, 2011

Sometimes it puzzles me a little when I look at people’s blog, seeing the fashionistas spend lots of time and thoughts into mixing and matching their clothes to create an outfit to wear for the day. Nothing’s wrong with that. In fact, as a fashion designer, I need to thank everyone who do that everyday. Otherwise fashion wouldn’t be sort after, and I wouldn’t even have a job.

But then, I just can’t understand what motivates people to dress up every single day. Unless I’m going to meet any clients, all I want to do is just to put on a basic t-shirt with jeans and run off to the studio and work. No one really cares what you’re wearing when you’re drafting patterns and fitting garments. The guys wouldn’t be all hitting on me all of a sudden if I changed into heels (nor I am seeking attention from anyone at this point).

Compare to creating clothes, I don’t quite care as much on what clothes I’m wearing. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with stripping down to the basic pieces, and focus on the more important stuff. Sometimes I think people need to prioritize things a little better. Do your job first, and pretty up yourself after.

Actually I don’t even spent more than 10mins to put make up on. I find it a little ironic that I’m in the fashion industry as I’m one of those girls who don’t like to dress up and get all dolled up everyday.

Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Karenk said, on January 18, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    Hi Katherine,
    First of all, I love your blog. Although I wast trained in the fashion industry I do love to browse the updates about the fashion industry. Sewing is my hobby. I started to sew since I was small, first out of curiosity, watching my mother and older sister sew simple things. Then out of necessity as I grew older because I cann’t buy clothes my size. I am a US size 00 petite. I think what you wear affects your attitude. When I wear a pair of jeans and a T-shirt to work on Friday, my attitude towards my work is a bit casual (or perhaps it is Friday and I am looking forward to the weekend!). I normally wear heels to work and alhtough I don’t wear business suits, I do dress prefessionally, like a sheath dress. I wear light make up as well. When I walk on heels, I do feel more professional. I know whether you are a professional or not does not depend on what you wear but honesly it does affect my attitude. As for wearing make up, I didn’t wear make up until very late in my working life! Now I realise that putting on light make up is not just about making yourself beautiful but partly about your self-respect as well. It is also for the friends around you to appreciate that you do make a liitle effort to look good for them.

  2. Grace said, on January 19, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    I love fashion design (though I am not a designer), I like buying clothes for family members but I don’t spend too much time dressing up myself either. To some extent, I found those who spend lots of time grooming tend to be boring…no offense…there are so many things in life to learn and to experience, 24 hours are way too short. Besides the fact that I’m too lazy to dress up, impressing other people with my work is far more satisfactory than impressing them with my appearance.


Leave a Reply

