When kath is blogging

strange things I can’t figure out

Posted in Uncategorized by Katharine on August 6, 2010

I’m glad that there are lots of people visiting my “sewing material in HK” post, as I believe what I wrote is helping the others (gosh I still remember how frustrated I was when I first began my search for sewing material in this city).

But what I’m puzzled is…. how come there are people coming from every part of the world? USA, UK, France, Australia, Indonesia, South Africa, Thailand, Mexico, Peru……… Why would people from Peru wants to know where to buy buttons in Hong Kong?

This is really curious to me… and I guess this is the little mystery that goes on my life everyday. lol

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Roy said, on January 4, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    Dear Katherine,
    don’t wonder or think to mutch. I am from switzerland, looked for days in sham shui po and finally bought my Singer in Hue Wah. finally i find your webpage, i was frustrated like you to look for calk or clothes marker.
    you get everything in sham shui po as long as you don’t look for something particular.
    I am swiss, a male sewer and with this hobby of mine one on a lonely trail. so don’t wonder about people from Peru. there is a british sells guy selling fridges to Eskimos.
    so just enjoy the reading. and your article is great and sooo helpfull to everybody serious about sewing.

    great work

    Roy

    • Katharine said, on January 4, 2011 at 8:28 pm

      Hi Roy,
      Thank you so much for leaving me a message. You have a great sense of humor: selling fridges to Eskimos 😉
      I’m sure it must be hard and lonely for a guy who likes to sew…Feel free to share your sewing projects and experience. and please let me know if you need any helps regarding where to find materials or some sewing technique.

      I’m going to sew a dress for my sister and myself soon. Hopefully it turns out great and I can update my blogs hehe.

      • Roy said, on January 10, 2011 at 2:16 pm

        Dear Katharine,

        I was in ssp and found everything i need (and even more) in the Tung Shing Sewing Ltd. it’s a great shop with all hardware for all type of sewing machine. very helpfull and friendly staff.
        Many thanks for the help
        I am sewing curtains at the moment and with the chalk it’s mutch easier now.

        Roy

  2. Katharine said, on January 10, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    Hey Roy,

    I know! I always want to get one more fancy ruler that I actually don’t need from them whenever I was staring at Tung Shing’s ruler wall….
    just wondering, did you get the traditional chalk or the fancy one with the wheel?
    guess you have a little interior makeover going on for the new year? 😉

    kath

    • Roy said, on January 10, 2011 at 2:44 pm

      Dear Kath,
      Funny, i could not resist and bought one of those rulers…
      I just bought also the traditional one, as what i spend on ruler i can not spend on chalk agin… honestly, i think the roller chalk is nice but my grandmother could do everything with a traditional, triangle chalk, my mother use one and so for sure, the little, brittle chalk is good enough for me.
      the curtain is actually more for my passion. photographing. so to cover the walls i am sewing a curtain of 6.5 meters x 2.25 meters.
      it’s not difficult but timeconsuming. and i learn to change bobbins without thinking anymore.
      actually I am a ‘practical’ sewer. I sew a lot for the church. from simple dresses for performing up to whatever we need if we do a drama. usually a combination of wood, plastic pipes, fabrics and dresses or scarfs, vails and and and.
      actually i use my sewing machine maybe 2 to 3 times a week for 2 up to 6 hours. so for now i am totally happy with the basic Singer.
      By the way, at the street market in Kwun Tong there is a little booth with two old ladies. they sell all kind of buttoms, chalks, needles and so on. so if someone lives in Sai Kung, there is no need to go all the way to SSP. Emergency supply is closer home. sometimes improvising is good and saves money too.

      yours

      Roy


Leave a Reply

