When kath is blogging

I hate Russian on ICQ.

Posted in Uncategorized by Katharine on July 8, 2009

I really hate that I feel like I must write this out, as tons of Russians are being morons and spaming my ICQ non-stop everyday. Normally I’m not a racist, I admit that I do judge people, but definitely not a racist. I have met some really great, nice, smart and hard working Russian in my life. So, here, I’m just talking about a small group of Russian on ICQ. I apologize if anyone is offended by this post. However, it’s my honest, frustrating, unpleasant experience with Russian online. They really ruined my day.

Everyday, I get at least 20 Russian adding me on their list (I hate that ICQ took the “authorization to add” out the program). Then they start messaging me. They always start with a stupid emoticon, or “hello” in Russian, and then another sentence in Russian. At first it’s fine, I’d explain that I can’t understand a word other than English. But now I really hate this. If you care to talk to me, can’t you pay a little respect and read up my profile? It’d only take you 10 seconds, and you’d find out that I don’t look like Russian at all, I don’t live in Russia, and I never listed that I can speak Russian. So why in the world would you start talking to me in Russian and expect that I can understand you?

Ok… SOME can speak English, poorly, through an online translator. Gosh, this is the worst way of communcation. Long time ago, I did tried to talk to those who use a translator. However after so many times, I realize that it can only lead to frustration. The Russian can probably understand me perfectly by translating English into Russian. However those output from Russian into English are HORRIBLE. For example : “Do you can talk me simple?” , ” Hello, I writ from Russian, That it is heavy to answer your mother“. “Hi I from Russia. I serve in army. Here there is no dialogue therefore I has decided you to disturb.“It was really frustrating trying to make some sense out of their messages, and it only get worse from there.

Then there are some Russian keep nagging, asking why I never response…. everyday, for a month (gosh, this is exactly why).

when I spend the time, telling them that a conversation will be hardly possible as I don’t have the time to try to understand their really bad English, and I don’t have the patient for it, throughout my explaination, they sounds like they really understand it, some would even appologize. However, when I tell them at last that I don’t want any messages from them, they switched back and talk in pure Russian, and swear in English (with wrong spelling). What’s wrong with them?

Some said they want to improve their English. For God’s sake, go to the homepage of BBC language. I’m not an English tutor, and I do not wish to contribute my time to improve your English.

Some Russian are so dumb and asked me “why English? it better?”. Gosh, do you want to write in Russian, and I write in English, and you think we can talk that way and understand each other? The whole point of speaking in English, is not because it’s a superior language, but it’s the only language I can communicate. Of course, you can try French, I can do a bit of that.

The worst is that the ICQ’s block function doesn’t work……. Hell I hate ICQ’s program engineers. I clicked to block that person, and “YES” to confirm blocking that user. and 5 minutes later. that user is automatically off from my block list, and I receive messages from the same user again.

I don’t understand why those Russian on ICQ have to be so stupid, and to be such annoying morons. I honestly think that they are a disgrace to their nation. What can i do to stop them?

Why can’t they respect the fact that people have their rights to decide to whom they’d want to speak?
Why can’t they understand that fact that if you can’t speak properly a language that i understand, there is no way we can hold a conversation or to be friends?
Why do they have to speak so disgustingly just because I don’t want to waste my time to listen to their stupid talk (and sometimes even dirty)?
Why do they think that anyone would LOVE to teach them English?
Why can’t they speak English when they want to speak to someone who can only understand English?
Why do they have to be a real nagger?

WHY CAN’T I BLOCK THEM?

URGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

33 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Niet Rusky said, on February 11, 2011 at 2:25 am

    I know those freaking assholes get on my nerves too.
    Freaking Russia should be blocked from icq all together !

    Get a life you Russian morons and stop adding people!
    niet niet niet

    • Katharine said, on February 11, 2011 at 2:41 am

      so glad to hear someone has been through the same thing as I did!
      high five.

  2. Jaz said, on February 16, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Man, this is making so angry aswell

    when i started using ICQ it didn’t bother me that much, but now it’s just so F***ing annoying. I don’t even bother to reply their request anymore…
    With that said

    Russians, get the fuck off ICQ

    I think it’s sad, bcuz a lot of my friends use, which means i cannot stop using it…

  3. sp said, on March 23, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Is there anyone else other than Russians on ICQ? hahahaha. Just joking. But seriously being a new user of ICQ, I am really frustrated with this. Had used ICQ way back in 1998, that time it was really good. But now it really sucks. Even in countries like Bangladesh, India, Maldives, etc you will find Russians id online. I guess those are bots.

  4. Russian said, on April 11, 2011 at 10:28 am

    I am Russian and by some strange reason NOBODY tries to add me into his/her contact list, etc… Actually, it is not that strange at all. Everything depends on your settings. I changed them a few years ago. Since that time I am communicating only with my mutual friends and nobody else is ever bugging me.

  5. Some guy said, on July 14, 2011 at 3:25 am

    I hate that most ruskies write brackets in every message, really annoying. Using smiles after every sentence instead of period is crazy, also when I use brackets in intended way, they think I write sad smile and then happy smile.

  6. Fenny said, on September 15, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    ICQ is owned by a Russian company, in case you were curious.

  7. SteeteCleli said, on November 21, 2011 at 5:19 am

    Для более холодного климата скажу, что ошиблась лорен, пытаясь вырвать руку. Слыша гулкое биение его вас с Трионом есть рот, побурела и, фыркая как закипающий чайник, потащила свою безмолвную дочку в сторону зала с гостями. Всего Двора.
    Вконтакте google talk другими ближайшее будущее планируется появление этой функции
    3

  8. Tom said, on October 28, 2012 at 1:56 am

    Been trhough exactly the same but not only with russians but chinese as well, they cant spell english even if they tried. And english is my 3rd language.

    • Katharine said, on October 28, 2012 at 9:25 pm

      i just never quite understand why they insist to talk to English speakers, but when they can’t start a proper conversation, they start saying nasty things…. oh well, they’ll grow up….. one day.

      thanks for stopping by

  9. Heleena said, on October 28, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    Dear author, If you can’t handdle icq, just start using another program instead of getting pissed off and spending your precious time on writing about this shit.

    • Katharine said, on October 28, 2012 at 10:08 pm

      Thank you for our time to leave me the message. For your information, I did stop using ICQ not long after writing this ancient post, and I certainly don’t mind spending a good half hour to rant on my personal blog.

      • Heleena said, on October 28, 2012 at 11:15 pm

        Very good. Your article just seemed a bit accusing and unpolite to me. If to judge all so straightforwardly, then many Russians should start complaining about flooding of the Chinese into their country for a better life. Well, just my opinion. Nothing personal.

      • Katharine said, on October 28, 2012 at 11:19 pm

        indeed, every country has her own share of problem and issue coming from neighboring countries. and I’m so sure that there are some very rude chinese on ICQ too, just that at the time of writing this article, I had not personally met any. Thus I could only speak of my personal frustration about talking with Russians online. It was rather strange that my account was flooded with Russian friend requests. I did assume most of them were robots and ads though.

  10. Johan said, on November 1, 2012 at 5:16 am

    Lol what a retard, What has Chinese immigration got to do with a personal experience on an internet chat program… Maybe every Euorpean should also then start to complaine about russian immigration to Europe from a random internet blog. Fucking russian retards.

    • Katharine said, on November 1, 2012 at 9:40 am

      thanks for the message. however I can understand how some people could be offended by what i wrote.

    • Heleena said, on November 1, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      It’s not about immigration. I gave it as an example. I talked about being too straightforward and rude cos of emotions. If all people reacted in that way, there would be so many the same-like articles about Chinese imigrationd and other problems. So probably it’s not russians who are retards here…

  11. Mithun said, on November 13, 2012 at 5:59 am

    Then you got offended you brought it up to begin with. Typical. If you cant stand the heat get out of the kitchen! If this woman who wrote that article got offended everyday by Russians, why should she not write and give her opinion?!

    Did you ever get harassed from people from the western world?! I think not! But i bet you spammed them with your own Messages! Political correctness is dead! Get fucking offended, you started it!

    • Heleena said, on November 13, 2012 at 1:28 pm

      Indeed, it seems political correctness is really dead, shame.

  12. Pauline said, on November 24, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    I’m a russian citizen living in Sweden but I do understand your negative opinion towards russians on ICQ.

    I’ve got my first ICQ account a few years ago, and I remember being frustrated at some russians who wanted to talk to me. I was so confused. I didn’t know who they were.

    I think you should just ignore them. Talking to them will only make things worse.

    Sorry for my poor english.

  13. Göran said, on December 12, 2012 at 6:06 am

    Chat programs should only be used to chat with people which you have learned to know in real life. If i get a message from a person whom i do not know or never met before i simply delete and block. If you want to chat to strange foreigners and see what that gets you, go on Omegle or Chatroulette . Same thing.

    But did not your parents teach you when you were a child that you should not talk to stranger? 😉

    Peace.

  14. Batko Nestor Makhno said, on March 5, 2013 at 2:51 am

    I am Russian and your post haven’t offended me in the slightest. Forgive me for giggling at your misfortune, but the brocken “Eengleesh” was so funny. I think you are getting a bunch of weirdos who’ve run out of their own people to talk to. I suggest you reply with “Poshel na huy”, which is “fuck off” in Russian. It literally translates to “go on the prick”. Good luck.

    • Katharine said, on March 6, 2013 at 12:04 am

      I’m glad that such an old post can still entertain the others 🙂 I haven’t used ICQ for ages. I must admit, those russian are partly responsible for killing the fun of ICQ for me. cheers.

  15. Stefan said, on April 10, 2013 at 1:47 am

    if you want to chat with Russians and Chinese then use ICQ. Dead program from 2004.

    • Katharine said, on April 10, 2013 at 8:01 am

      true, so dead. I haven’t used it for a reeeeeally long time 😉

  16. Olvert said, on April 20, 2013 at 6:37 am

    Came across this today and i have to tell you, that it has not changed. These Russians are really fucking dumb people! Why on earth would anyone want to have something to do with them?!… They hided behind iron curtain for 70 years from Europe and rest of the world and now have mentality that they did nothing wrong! And now they want to chat and be sociable! Fuck Russians! They are the same non-european shit they were 50 years ago, but now wants to be part of Europe! They know nothing about anything except their own country and culture and nations they have occupied and slaved. Jackie Chan and his heritage and what he has done for China means nothing to Russians. Russians are low people who has to have a person rule over them, to tell them what to do! They have no dreams no future no nothing if nobody tells them what to do!. They are sociable robots with no dreams to make anything of themselves other than procreating. They are like lost children! You want to chat with these people be my guest! Good luck!

  17. Kurt Kladden. said, on July 2, 2013 at 3:03 am

    Like really? Russians have such a good reputation about themselves? WHo wants to talk to these people?… They started bothering me on ICQ in 2006. Have not used this program since. Nobody uses it anymore.

  18. Marcus In Sweden said, on September 14, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    I stumbled on this article today while i was looking for instructions how to sign out ICQ 8 from Facebook, and i must say that i totally agree with the person who wrote this article. Russians have tried to add me and sent me messages countless times on ICQ, but i have always ignored them as i dont see the point in chatting with strangers from a totally different culture that i do not know or have anything in common with. And they can not write proper English grammar so i understand them either. A friend of mine, married a russian girl that he met of ICQ but only chatted with a few times back in the day. Needles to say they were divorced 4 years later. That makes me wonder if Russian women are using ICQ only to find men from other countries, who they can marry and move to a better life?.. I read somewhere that if you are a woman and over 25 in Russia and you do not have children then you are a splinter in society. And not much appreciated. I could be wrong. I feel that Russians should stay within their own borders, they have the biggest country in the world to chat to people like themselves. No need to try and rudely add and send foreign people add requests or messages before even introducing yourself. Russians should stay in Russia as they isolated themselves with communism from the rest of the world for almost 100 years, they are quite ignorant about other cultures of the world they live in. My advice: If a Russan tries to add you or talk to you, simply ignore the message and block them. It will save you lots of frustration.

    Peace.

    • Katharine said, on September 14, 2013 at 7:28 pm

      I’m still amazed by how many people actually went through the same thing with the Russian folks on ICQ. Being a female over 25 years old, I can’t see myself being married already. I can’t imagine to live in a society when everyone seems to be married and have kids in a much younger age. Thanks for sharing 🙂

      kath

  19. Jessica said, on January 11, 2014 at 12:29 am

    Hey. Just saw this article by chance when i was browsing about ICQ and how to remove profile, since none of my real life friends or family even use it anymore. I can tell you from own personal experience since i have been using ICQ all kinds of Russian people tried to contact me and send me messages. Why?… I do not know them and i do not even live in same country or culture. I start to think they are looking for something, either to move to another country for better life or get money. Last before i deleted ICQ was some person from Volgograd Russia asking “Can you teach me English and look sex on cam?”…..

    This is just ridiculous and i am glad that i do not use this program anymore.
    I hope Russians can get themselves together and stop this nonsense. Because nobody wants to deal with their ways anymore.

    Thank you for the article.
    I know how you feel.

    Jessica.

  20. Tompa said, on May 27, 2015 at 5:02 am

    Interesting article i came upon. I personally also used ICQ as well back in the day, to keep in contact with friends as there was no Facebook or Myspace at the time. And i also got a lot of random “add requests” from Russians and Chinese and some where from South America, Mexico, Brazil, Chile etc… All with bad English grammar and spelling. I chatted a little with them on and off. But like you said, it is really a big waste of time and frustration as i could not understand them and they could not understand me. I see its an old article from 2009 but i thought i would share my experience as well from back in the day.

    Peace & Love ❤

  21. Ahmuda said, on August 10, 2016 at 10:32 pm

    Lol… This is exactly my experience on ICQ a decade ago. Numerous Russians and Asians and South Americans, Middle Easterners etc… Before social Media took a hold. Oh my god, i had the horrible time with them, and i thought i was the only one. I would always tell them to get lost and leave me alone, as i could not understand them or was i interested in any sex talk with them. Good article because i had exactly exact same experience. But today, i think no matter where you are or who you are, you will have same experience as on ICQ. Everyone has Internet now.


Leave a Reply

