When kath is blogging

First time making a DVD…

Posted in Uncategorized by Katharine on March 31, 2009

Mom got a bunch of pictures taken during her trip in California. Just pictures of my brother and sister’s new home and of course my sister’s life with her broken leg. So I tried to burn a DVD for my mom, as she asked.

At first I thought my laptop is smart enough to burn it as a DVD as long as I stuck a DVD disc and drag and drop the pictures on top on the DVD drive icon. hmmm unfortunately it didn’t work. So then I know there aren’t any short cut…

So there is this “Window Movie Maker”. I thought I’d give it a try. It should be able to get me a DVD, somehow… So basically it’s like making a powerpoint slide show, with cheesy transitions. The more cheesy those transition effects are, the more dorky and funny the whole thing looks. Of course, things are not always smooth. The music keep skipping on the version I exported. I tried exporting it again, but the same thing happened. I guess you can’t really have high expectation from free software.

I opened up Nero. It looks kinda like the Final Cut Pro. I’ve seen before. So I started playing around with it. One of the great thing about this software is that whenever your cursor is on top on a button, it tells you what it is, and what you can do with it. However I still have to search through some help forums for certain stuff. Features are pretty limited, for what I wanted to do. There are still some bugs as some features are not really working. But we’re problem solvers, there are always some ways around to get the result you want. Although at certain frustration moment, I wished I have Final Cut Pro. Everything would be so much easier I guess.

Then I burned it, and yay I got a DVD… Slide it in the DVD player, music started playing, and the screen is BLACK…….Ok, the sound is there, that means that the DVD player can read the disc… maybe I could select something during the burning process specifically for the visual images? went back to my computer and check, not really. I guess maybe the video cable got unplugged? hmmm not that too…

Flipping through manual, I know all the vocabulary written there, but somehow I just don’t understand a thing. Then I started just pressing buttons. With some luck (and a tiny little bit of intelligence), I got the visual part!

Cheesy photo slide show…

This is so awwwwesome.

Tagged with: , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. matt said, on April 1, 2009 at 8:30 am

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  2. gabe said, on April 2, 2009 at 9:55 am

    congratulations. thankfully it didn’t turn out like your past attempts at making pizza…

  3. Katharine said, on April 2, 2009 at 10:33 am

    not exactly like the pizza case, but close.
    you should be proud of me.


Leave a Reply

