When kath is blogging

John Legend

Posted in Music by Katharine on March 30, 2009

After my period with the Japanese rock music, I never get to really like any male musicians/singers. I am always attracted to female musicians, and caught by that soft and feminine voices. I am faithful to Sarah Brightman and Bjork, both to me are some of the most gifted musicians. The heavenly voice of Sarah sounds like an angel singing. Her voice just touches me no matter what she is singing, even if it’s not in the genre I like. For Bjork, she has a very original way of performing music as art. Her voice is very pure, powerful and true. It forces you to feel what she’s singing. I’m also simply amazed by the world of music she created.

However recently I found myself really love John Legend, a male musician for the first time. Soulful and beautiful, it’s very relaxing to hear him sings. One night at 1am, I was about to sleep, but I went on to the TV’s program schedule online, and found that they were playing John Legend’s concert. So I went to the living room and turned the TV on. All lights were off, with only lights coming out from the TV screen, and his music was the only thing I hear. Soul mix with R&B, and maybe a bit jazz. It was an wonderful way to end the night with his music.

By the way, I hate it when people ask me what kind of music do I listen. Simply because I don’t only listen to one specific music. There are some songs that I really love, but doesn’t mean I love that genre…So to list what I listen, it probably take awhile, you music as well just google a list of what music genre is out there.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hesane said, on June 20, 2012 at 3:06 am

    Oh gosh, I totally agree with everything you said about Sarah Brightman and Björk! That was an absolutely awesome description! I always feel the same way when I listen to either and they are two my favourite female artists. and I’m a 17 years old guy but I also don’t always find myself attracted to male voices, except that of Matthew Bellamy, Sergio Pizzorno, Thom Yorke, Leonard Cohen, Serj Tankian, and Neil Diamond (lol- well that’s all..). but female singers are always more appealing and have sweeter, charming and more delicate voices and usually greater talents. True male artists usually make their own music and sing like Matthew Bellamy, and their voices don’t always have to be that exquisite or remarkable (well, except Bellamy’s..) huh I don’t know what I’m on about but I found this post a great one and thought I should leave a comment and guess I did.. You must have a great and unique taste in music like mine, lol – I think I’m going to check John Legend’s music.. should be good.

    • Katharine said, on June 20, 2012 at 8:50 am

      Thank you so much for leaving me a message on this post, and it reminds me of that lovely night listening to John legend’s music on tv. And I’ll definitely check out those musician you mentioned. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

