When kath is blogging

House Cleaning

Posted in Uncategorized by Katharine on March 29, 2009

When I was in college, I only did a serious hosuse cleaning when it was seriously dirty. Luckily, maybe because of the weather, things never got too sticky. The other situation is before someone’s visiting, especially mom.

So my mom has been in the United States for 3 weeks taking care of my sister who broke her leg during a ski trip. I haven’t really do much cleaning through out these 3 weeks besides cleaning the bathroom once and vacuum the floor once. Mommy is coming home tomorrow morning, so all I did today is 6 hours of house cleaning…I don’t think I ever clean an apartment all by myself from bathrooms to kitchen to vacuum plus mopping the floor. A very productive day.

You know, sometimes when someone knows that a girl lived with guys, they often ask you can you get used to it (that they tend to be dirtier)? But after living with guys for 3 years, there is only one thing I got grossed out: flip up the toilet seat… For some reason I just developed this fear to see how dirty it could be, even it wasn’t bad at all. Anyway, the same “fear” came up today when i was cleaning the toilet today, and to me this is just funny. I’ve been cleaning my own bathroom for nearly 6 months, and not once i got any “surprises” when flipping up the toilet seat, but somehow, that feeling still came up every time.

It was also fun to wash the dishes with Gwen Stefani’s music.

Tagged with: ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Gift Of A Unique Toilet Seat said, on March 30, 2009 at 4:23 am

    […] House Cleaning  Just a few thoughts […]

  2. materix01 said, on March 30, 2009 at 7:09 am

    Dw, my sister has exactly the same fear…
    Which is why Dad and me do all the bathroom cleaning. Actually Dad and I do the cleaning for the entire house. The good thing about my house is that everyone has their own bathroom. And males shower in a separate bathroom to the females of the house. That way, no one has any complaints.

  3. Katharine said, on March 30, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    OMG, I’m surprise to find out that I’m not a long on this one.
    everyone has their own bathroom… that’s awesome, but sounds like a lot of cleaning action there.

  4. materix01 said, on March 30, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    HAHAHA, it’s alright. Dad’s bathroom and my sis’s bathroom are quite small. Only a loo inside. Mine and Mum’s are the main ones with the showers and baths. Bathroom cleaning is quite quick actually, maybe because we clean around once a month.

    • Katharine said, on March 30, 2009 at 2:44 pm

      Weather plays an important part. The weather in Hong Kong is so humid that soap scum seems to build up faster. and sometimes my cosmetic or skincare products drips on the sink that make things look dirty after a few days you cleaned it…

  5. materix01 said, on March 30, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Speaking of Hong Kong, my mum is staying in Hong Kong for 3 nights before going to Fuzhou to visit relatives. My last experience of Hong Kong ( a year ago) wasn’t too pleasant. Hong Kong is too densely populated (maybe I’m too use to Australia with their population of 20.5 million people spread over such a large land mass). My trip was pretty good except it got ruined by one guy working at the airport. Some guy in his early twenties working at a Burger King (I think, one of those Burger joints) in the airport. I wanted to buy a burger and when I gave him RMB, he said with a sneer in a fobby accent, Hong Kong Dollar only. He was such a total snob… Afterwards I got so annoyed and I was ranting in my head that he works in a a fast food chain so what has he got to be so snobby about. I mean I made a genuine mistake, he doesn’t have to be a snob about it.
    I got really annoyed that I didn’t even bother getting a burger, I just immediately left and went to the Japanese restaurant next door which accepted USD and RMB. Managed to spoil my whole trip.

  6. Katharine said, on March 30, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    well there are always idiots like that who look down on the mainlander… It is sad, and stupid especially for someone who’s working at the airport, whose job is to deal with visitors from around the world. But I mean, they don’t worth you to waste your time and energy to be angry at them. If I’m really mad at some places’ customer’s service. I marked down the date and time, and write a letter to let the department know that I was not happy with their service. Not to get people fired, but just they need to know they are getting paid to serve clients, they should do their job whether they like it ot not.

    On the other hand, maybe it wasn’t about you at all. Who knows, maybe he just got out from a really bad fight with his girlfriend on the phone. Or just got yelled at from the manager.

  7. materix01 said, on March 30, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    He probably just wasn’t a morning person. As I remember, it was around 6:30am in Hong Kong. I was the only customer around though, so technically they should of had better service. It’s ironic that I’m half Canto (Dad is from Hong Kong)…
    According to mum who regularly travels to Hong Kong for business trips, Hong Kong high end shopping now realise many their richest clients are mainlanders and the customer service now is generally top notch. But I guess management really does emphaise customer service when you are trying to rip off your clients. Jewelery and Fashion are some of the most overpriced industries out there.

  8. Suzanne said, on October 17, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Great blog! Thank you!


Leave a Reply

